Oh look! A blog!
Yeah. So I [Moonchild] have decided to post the whole mess of food pictures I've taken in the last couple weeks on the grounds that maybe if I send it to The Princess after, she might go "Oh look! A blog!" and start using it herself. Moreover, maybe she'll even use it when she goes to Italy to post pictures of pretty Italian food. [Well, I can hope, anyways.]
First! A Cupcake!

This here is a [vegan] carrot cupcake, based off of some recipe on the internet somewhere that I altered. It had pineapple and I believe an applesauce binder. They were pretty darn good, and decently fluffy. The icing is just icing sugar and margarine [not vegan T_T] and soymilk and vanilla. And then I threw on some fresh strawberries because I'm decorative like that.
Next! An overly processed veggie burger lunch!

This was before Relay for Life [which was freaking awesome] and I wanted something good. This is an Yves ground 'beef' veggie burger, with fried onions and spinach on a whole wheat bun. The potatoes beside the burger are the 'Jojoes' that we [Princess and I] learned to make in the eighth grade. I swear that was the only useful skill I gained from Foods class. Slice potatoes into 'coins,' coat with olive oil (although we used melted margarine in class) and spices. I think the ones here are just salt and coarse pepper, although the foods teacher made us use 'seasoning salt' (whatever that is).
Oatmeal Pancakes!

Yay! This was breakfast before my social studies 11 provincial exam yesterday. The recipe is stolen from
here. I ran out of white flour, so it's about half and half between white and whole wheat. I used organic sugar and used a little more than in the recipe. They were really good, although my brother refused to even try one. As you can see, I topped them with kiwi and syrup [sadly not real maple syrup as we don't have any right now.] The mug is filled with orange juice. There you go.
Curry-fry!

This was dinner last night! I make this probably at least once every two weeks. [And I generally don't repeat recipes very often.] This is basically fried vegetables, chickpeas, and curry powder. It takes probably ten minutes including the chopping and frying. I love spinach in this, but last night we didn't have any. This one does have zucchini, broccoli, and frozen peas. Chop up most of an onion and some garlic and fry it in olive oil until soft. Add chopped veggies and fry them as well. Add chickpeas and several good hard shakes of curry powder until the whole thing is kind of yellow-ish. Fry until the chickpeas are hot and then eat!
Vegan Ice Cap! (No, really.)

Okay, this might be the worst food picture I ever took. I drank mine quickly, and then my mother wanders in and goes "Hey, can I have one of those?" She insists on using the dark, thick chocolate syrup that doesn't dissolve (and contains milk) and which gets all over the cup. She drinks a bunch and then I go "Wait! I need to prove to the world that it's possible!"
Plus the ice isn't crushed because I'm currently living with our blender and food processor in a box in the basement until we move houses again. Oh well. It's delicious. Trust me. Instructions? Take some soymilk. Probably a little less than three cups. Add about a cup of sugar and a little cornstarch. Cook it on the stove in a pot until it's just starting to thicken. Add several scoops of instant coffee. Cook until the mixture is good and syrupy. Take it off the heat and put it in the freezer until it's cooled. Take ice that you've smashed in a baggie against your deck and put it in a glass. Pour a big spoonful of the syrup and a good squirt of chocolate syrup onto the ice, and then fill the glass to the top with soymilk. Mix it well and then drink. It's really, really good. One day I will have my blender back and I will be able to make a Timmies' style one with the ice blended in.
And finally! Brunch!

Hurray! This is what I was just eating when I started typing this up. After not being able to sleep for quite a while after drinking that ice cap at nine last night, I woke up late and needed brunch. I wanted biscuits, but we ran out of white flour. [Because I used the last of it in the oatmeal pancakes.] These ones are entirely whole wheat. In theory they are the ones from Vegan with a Vengeance, but again, whole wheat. I also used shortening for all of the fat (rather than half margarine) because vegan margarine is expensive and hard to come by and I hate knowing that there is whey in my cooking for really no good reason. The stuff in the middle is a fried 'patty' made out of black beans and onion, held together with flaxseed and soy flour. The biscuits were a little dense [of course] and I couldn't get the patties crispy enough for my liking, but it was a decent and easy enough brunch.
Okay Princess, your turn!